About TUNL

The Triangle Universities Nuclear Laboratory, or TUNL, is a U.S. Dept. of Energy Center of Excellence. We’re a consortium of 4 universities: Duke University, North Carolina Central University, North Carolina State University, and the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. Our mission is to advance the frontiers of nuclear physics and to educate students and young scientists so that they can contribute to society across a wide range of technical fields, including nuclear physics. TUNL's work is conducted by 20 faculty, 21 research scientists and postdocs, 15 staff, about 40 graduate students, and about 25 undergraduates.

Learn More

TUNL Operations Update

Both the tandem and HIGS accelerators are in full operation. Strict health protocols are still in effect and at present Duke is not allowing visitors to campus. Thus, all experiments are being conducted with local personnel. We expect the visitor restrictions to stay in effect through the first half of 2021, but we will update if that changes.